Weather Forecast


Tuesday, January 9, 2018 - 6:08pm

Public Notice

Publish Jan. 10, 2018



OCTOBER 17, 2017

The Board of Commissioners in and for the County of Douglas, State of Minnesota, met in Regular Session this 17th day of October, 2017. The full text is available for public inspection in the County Auditor/Treasurers Office.

To approve the agenda with additions. Motion carried.

To approve minutes of the October 3rd, 2017 Regular Board Meeting. Motion carried.

A Public Hearing was held. No public comment was made. The Public Hearing was closed and the Board returned to Regular Session.

To approve the 2017-2018 FTP License Agreement. Motion carried.

To accept the 2016 Compliance Reports. Motion carried.

To adopt Resolution No. 17-78 accepting a donation of $300.00 in memory of Donald C. Soderholm donated by Kathy Morell and Family, Joan Osterberg and Family, and Leone Howe and Family to be used for Veterans needs. Motion carried.

To approve the ITV Equipment Care Package contract. Motion carried.

To approve the Conditional Use Permit for Paul A and Cheryl R Schmidt {PIN 51-0255- 000}/Verizon Wireless. Motion carried.

To approve amendments to the Zoning Ordinance. Motion carried.

To table the Agricultural Riparian Buffer Ordinance for Douglas County. Motion carried.

To pay bills in the amount of $1,650,174.92 as follows:

A & E Plumbing & Heating Inc $12,303.42

AAA Striping Service Co. $2,736.40

Alexandria Light & Power $24,767.40

Anoka County Treasury Office $2,000.00

Briggs and Morgan Professional Assoc $3,219.00

Central Specialties Inc $133,655.43

CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP $15,300.00

Computer Professionals Unlimited $5,708.00

Daikin Applied


Dell Marketing L.P.


Douglas County Public Works $8,298.31

Dutcher & Paschka


Enterprise Fleet Management Trust $11,025.51

Farmers Union Oil Co.


H & R Construction Company $3,140.00

Hilltop Lumber, Inc.


Hvezda Excavating


Hegg Law Office


Horizon Public Health


Maney International of Alex, Inc $4,474.02

Mend Correctional Care, LLC $27,576.18

Minnesota Dept of Revenue $66,649.62

MN Dept of Revenue


Marco Technologies LLC $2,274.38

Midwest Construction Group $422,448.32

Mitchell Humphrey & Co $21,300.00

Pro-Ag Farmers Cooperative $4,521.67

Riley Brothers Construction Inc $497,951.90

Stein's, Inc


Shutter's Tire & Auto Inc $3,898.88

Split Rock Studios




Summit Food Services LLC $8,503.16

Thomson Reuters-West Publishing Corp


Verizon Wireless


Vertiv Services Inc


Voyant Communications LLC $2,879.04

Waldorf Excavating/Dwayne $18,840.00

West Central MN Petroleum LLC $17,835.00

Ziegler, Inc


OTHER VENDORS 124 $60,568.33

GRAND TOTAL $1,650,174.92

Motion carried.

To record in the Board minutes that the investment policy has been reviewed and no changes are recommended at this time. Motion carried.

To approve updates to the procurement policy, procedure and contract administration guidelines. Motion carried.

Timothy Vlach, knowINK, presented an Electronic Poll Book demonstration.

The Board took a break from 10:51 a.m. to 10:57 a.m.

To commit $16,000.00 from Douglas County for the County Ditch 23 and Contributing Lakeshed Study. Motion carried.

To adopt Resolution No. 17-79 to support the application for local road improvement program funding for West Lake Cowdry road reconstruction & LaGrand Township. Motion carried.

To designate MCIT delegates for 2017. Motion carried.

Commissioner Jim Stratton reported to the Board on the Land of the Dancing Sky meeting.

Commissioner Owen Miller received feedback regarding the Cooperative Services Agreement for the West Central Regional Juvenile Center.

To move into closed session at 11:47 a.m. as permitted by Minnesota Statutes Section 13D.03, subdivision 1(b) to discuss the Countys labor negotiation strategy related to the Countys negotiations with the Teamsters and LELS unions, conducted pursuant to sections 179A.01 to 179A.25. Motion carried.

The Board returned to Regular Session at 12:23 p.m.

Commissioner Charlie Meyer reported back to the Board on a Public Health meeting.

To adjourn the meeting at 12:51 p.m. Motion carried.