Weather Forecast


Four treatment plants in county honored

Four wastewater treatment facilities in Douglas County were recently honored by the

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency for maintaining outstanding permit compliance from October 2016 through September 2017.

They include facilities in Brandon, Evansville, Garfield and Millerville. Nearby plants that were honored included Glenwood, Parkers Prairie and Urbank.

The agency recognized a total of 295 facilities throughout the state.

MPCA's assistant commissioner of water policy, Shannon Lotthammer, presented certificates and praised award recipients for their persistent work and dedication to protecting water quality.

To be eligible for the recognition, facilities were required to submit all reports to the MPCA correctly and on time, demonstrate consistent compliance through monitoring, operations and maintenance, and employ staff certified by the MPCA in wastewater operations.

The awards were presented at the 81st annual Wastewater Operations Conference in Brooklyn Park. The annual conference brings together wastewater operators from Minnesota for training and professional education.

In Minnesota, there are about 1,600 municipal and industrial wastewater treatment facilities. Community, institution or treatment plant size was not a factor in awarding the certificates.