Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today

Association of Minnesota Counties announces 2013 service awards

Individuals from Douglas, Pope and Itasca counties were recently recognized with Association of Minnesota Counties’ (AMC) 2013 Outstanding Service Awards for exhibiting excellence, innovation and dedication to their work in county government.

0 Talk about it

Bev Bales, Douglas County commissioner, was one of the recipients.

BalesThe recipients were nominated by their county and selected by a committee of county officials.

Bales has led Douglas County in many areas, including the NACo “Change-A-Light” Contest, where the county placed first in the nation and received 1,000 free CFL light bulbs.

She initiated and led Douglas County in becoming one of the first state-certified participants in the “Beyond the Yellow Ribbon” program.

Bales is chair of AMC’s Health and Human Services Committee, has chaired the State Community Health Advisory Committee (SCHAC) and chaired SCHAC’s awards committee this year.

A tireless volunteer, she stays in touch with constituents, attending township, city meetings and fundraisers for 18 churches in her district, veterans groups, Lions clubs, fire departments and more.

For more than 40 years, she’s called a local radio station five days a week, sending birthday and anniversary greetings to more than 1,300 residents.

Bales was inducted into the “County Senior Citizens Hall of Fame,” received the “Woman of Excellence Award” from Girl Scouts, and was inducted to the “Hall of Honor” at her high school in Barnesville.