Weather Forecast


Central Minnesotans' insistence on protecting water quality heard at Capitol

Key advocates for clean water in central Minnesota joined others from around the state at the state Capitol as part of a coordinated mission to let legislators know how important the environment is to Minnesotans.

District managers, staff and others for the Sauk River Watershed District (SRWD) were in St. Paul March 7 and 8 as part of the Minnesota Association of Watershed District's Annual Legislative Reception and Day at the Capitol.

"This is our best opportunity to help our legislators understand and appreciate the vital work that is being done by the SRWD on behalf of their constituents," said SRWD Administrator Holly Kovarik.

Also working on behalf of the SRWD at the State Capitol were board managers Todd Foster, Larry Kuseske and Bob Mostad.

Specifically, Kovarik and the others will touch on a range of issues that need legislative support, among them clean water, environmental monitoring and invasive species.

Kovarik said that she and others from the SRWD "made it clear that the state's money is being used wisely to support a mission that benefits Minnesotans and their surroundings for generations to come."

There are 11 legislators whose districts fall within the SRWD's boundaries: Sens. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Joe Gimse, Michelle Fischbach, Scott Newman and John Pederson; and Reps. Torrey Westrom, Mary Franson, Paul Anderson, Larry Hosch, Steve Gottwalt and Dean Urdahl.

As a local government body, the SRWD was formed in 1986 and extends from six miles west of Osakis flowing south to the Mississippi River near St. Cloud. The district's namesake, the Sauk River, meanders for 120 miles. Members of its board of managers are appointed to three-year terms by commissioners from five counties to represent the interests of Douglas, Meeker, Pope, Stearns and Todd counties.

For more information about the SRWD, visit or call (320) 352-2231.