Weather Forecast


Drew elected treasurer of newspaper association

Diann Drew

Diann Drew of Alexandria will play a leadership role in the Minnesota Newspaper Association.

Drew was named treasurer at the association's 150th annual convention and awards banquet in Bloomington last week. Drew, a controller for the Echo Press, has worked for the newspaper for more than 16 years.

Christerfer Schultz, the publisher and majority independent owner of Herald Journal Publishing, Inc. and Greater Minnesota Communications, Inc., was elected MNA president. He is the 137th president of MNA, representing more than 325 newspapers across the state.

Others elected at the MNA annual meeting include: first vice president — Mike Dalton, Cannon Falls Beacon; second vice president — Karin Ramige, McLeod County Chronicle, Glencoe; third vice president — Chris Knight, APG Media, Mesabi Daily News, Virginia; director for two-year term — Chad Koenen, Henning Publications; and director for three-year term — Crystal Miller, Albert Lea Tribune.

Justin Lessman, Jackson County Pilot, will continue to serve his term as a director. Michael Jacobson, Paynesville Press, will serve as immediate past president.

About the Minnesota Newspaper Association

The Minnesota Newspaper Association, a voluntary association of all general-interest newspapers in the state of Minnesota, acts on behalf of the newspaper press of the state. It represents its newspapers in the legislature and in court, sells advertising for newspapers, operates a mailing service (press releases), sponsors a large annual convention in the Twin Cities, and engages in a vigorous program of training persons for newspaper work. Find out more by visiting