Weather Forecast


Habitat for Humanity elects new board members, officers

Contributed photo Members of the 2010 Habitat for Humanity Board include (left to right) Chris Worley, Jan Finazzo, Joyce Hansen, Irene Vagle, Gordon Vander Helm, Marie Anderson, Steve Hellermann, John Beem, John Loken, Pete Wood, Terry Quist, Lori Anderson (executive director) and Rachel Mattson (resource development director). Not pictured: Janna Lindoo.

Habitat for Humanity of Douglas County President Steve Hellermann reports the election of two new board members: Irene Vagle and Marie Anderson.

The board also elected officers: Steve Hellermann, president; Jan Finazzo, vice president; Chris Worley, treasurer; Janna Lindoo, secretary; and John Beem, past president.

Other board members include: Joyce Hansen, John Loken, Terry Quist, Gordon Vander Helm and Pete Wood.

Vern Anderson, co-founder and CEO of Douglas Machine, Inc. installed the new directors and officers at their organizational meeting held on July 20.

The board of directors is the governing body and sets policy for the local affiliate including fundraising, building site selection, partner family selection and support, volunteer coordination, church and public relations, home construction and mortgage servicing.

"Since 1997, 26 homes have been built for sale to partner families. We are thankful for the financial and volunteer support from the community," said Hellermann, board president.

"We welcome our new board members to our team and their commitment to our mission of building affordable housing," said Lori Anderson, executive director.

In addition, Habitat For Humanity welcomed a new member to its team, Rachel Mattson, resource development director. The new position was made possible through a capacity building grant from Habitat for Humanity International.

The affiliate is currently recruiting families for homes for the 2011 construction season.

For more information and to request an application packet, contact the affiliate at (320) 762-4255 or